Viña Tarapacá cuenta con un amplio reconocimiento internacional, lo que la ha posicionado como una de las viñas chilenas de mayor trayectoria y tradición.

Are you of legal drinking age in
your place of residence?

Yes No

¿Tiene edad legal para beber alcohol?

Si No

Sou maior de idade

Sim Nao

Since 1874, in the heart of the Maipo valley, Viña Tarapacá has been crafting unique wines of outstanding quality. These estate bottled wines earned their first award in the US in 1876, and have been obtaining awards ever since.

2013 Tarapaca Gran Reserva Chardonnay Stands Out As Best In Category In The AWoCA 2014


The 12th ANNUAL WINES OF CHILE AWARDS (AWoCA) took place, with a panel comprised of Brazilian experts and with the best Chilean brands. This was the first time that the competition – regarded as the most important and influential in Chilean winemaking– was held outside Chile. The winners of each category were revealed during a Gala dinner, in São Paulo last Tuesday 2nd of December.

AWOCA-2014_premiosOut of the 92 Chilean wineries and over 640 wines that were blind tasted during the competition over three days, the Tarapacá Gran Reserva Chardonnay 2013 was awarded Gold Medal, and was announced winner of the Best in Category: Chardonnay.

This 100% Chardonnay wine originates from three different vineyards in the Leyda Valley coastal zone. The grapes were harvested by hand and then pressed in whole bunches to retain the natural acidity and achieve a low phenolic extraction, thereby expressing the mineral notes of the fruit. Of the blend, 95% was fermented in French oak barrels, with partial malolactic fermentation and aging with its lees. This added a richness to the wine, lending it toasted, yeasty notes.

Along with this noteworthy accomplishment, the Gold Medal was also awarded for the 2011 Tarapacá Gran Reserva Etiqueta Azul, a Maipo Valley blend made with Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon and Syrah.

The Brazilian specialists entrusted with selecting the best Chilean wines were distinguished sommeliers, opinion formers and media representatives (both print and digital) from around the country.